Guess who’s coming to dinner?: Marie d’Agoult writes to Franz Liszt about her soirée with Hugo, Balzac, & Ingres (extract; introduction & version originale followed by translation)

hugo-portraitAtelier Hugo-Vacquerie (Charles Hugo or Auguste Vacquerie), “Portraits of Victor Hugo, 1853-55.” Salt prints.  ©Christie’s Images Ltd. 2012. Previously published on the Arts Voyager.

News item, 3-8-2017: Last night in Orléans, presidential candidate François Fillon, who faces possible charges of fictively employing his wife as a parliamentary assistant, tried to re-launch his campaign in the land of Joan of Arc. In sharing this extract from Marie D’Agoult’s correspondence with Franz Liszt (translation follows the original version) — of a slightly less exalted nature — we’d like to propose an alternate candidate to fill Joan’s shoes.

Marie d’Agoult a Liszt:

13 juin 1841

Vous allez me trouver bien extravagante et je suis moi-même confuse de l’impression que m’a fait cette soirée d’hier. J’était loin de penser que cette malheureuse bosse de la vénération était encore si proéminente, et qu’il y avait encore pour moi des hommes-Dieu. Figurez-vous qu’il m’a été impossible de manger à dîner et impossible de fermer l’œil cette nuit. N’allez jamais dire cela à personne, je serais moquable au dernier point. Enfin c’est un événement dans ma pauvre vie que d’avoir reçu chez moi Victor Hugo.

Hier touts mes souvenirs de jeunesse me revenaient au cœur plus rayonnant. Je me rappelais depuis la première impression de la fille d’O’Taiti tout ce que j’avais aimée de lui : les Feuilles d’Automne à Genève quand j’y étais si écrasée de malheur, tous les vers que nous redisions :

« O Jalouse entre les jalouses
J’ai différé. La vie à différer se passe ! etc… »

Je me rappelais ce drame du Roi s’amuse où vous deviez aller même si votre mère mourait dans la journée, sa préface d’Un Condamné lue ensemble avec tant d’enthousiasme et j’aurais pleuré comme une bête s’il n’y avait eu là une foule insensée à me considérer.

Je vous dirai pour commencer par le commencement que je l’ai fait dîner avec le ménage Ingres, MM. Duban, Ampère, Mignet, et Balzac. Il était très bien mis avec une visible recherche, comme j’aime que l’on soit. Vous savez, tout en noir, avec du beau ligne, des bouts de manches relevés en guise de manchettes, etc… coiffée plat et long comme vous (moins les cheveux dont il a peu).

Nous nous sommes donnés un cordial shake-hand*. Il est resté jusqu’à dix heures malgré une lecture de Ruy Blas qu’il devait faire à huit heures à la Porte Saint-Martin. Chose inconcevable, je le trouve le contraire de ses ouvrages, de ce que vous dites de lui, de ce que les hommes compétents en disent, de ce que je croit moi-même. Je le trouve simple, bon, charmant surtout, point arrogant et point timide, ayant de bons gros rires d’enfant et des caresses dans la voix, très poli avec les hommes, très louangeur et presque respectueux pour M. Ingres, avec moi délicatement empressé, railleur avec Balzac…

Je vous le répète, je ne me croyais plus tant de jeunesse. Je croyais surtout que je n’avais plus ce culte absurde de l’intelligence. Figurez-vous maintenant ce qu’a dû être à une autre époche de sève plus abondante ce… (manque) auquel se joignait le plus violent amour! Un de ces deux sentiments serait assez pour remplir ou bouleverser toute une vie. Quand les deux se rencontrent dans un cœur il faut qu’il se brise car il ne saurait s’élargir assez pour les contenir.

….. Adieu. Qu’allez vous dire de cette folle lettre ?

J’espère qu’elle vous fera sourire.

I kiss away* ce sourire sur vos lèvres.

*In English in the original.

Translation by  Paul Ben-Itzak:

Marie d’Agoult to Liszt:

June 13, 1841

You’ll no doubt conclude that I’ve gone mad, and I myself am confused about the impression last night’s party had upon me. I’d never have thought that this unfortunate aptitude for veneration was still so pre-eminent, that I still believed in Man-Gods. Would you believe that it was impossible for me to eat during dinner and impossible for me to close my eyes all night? Don’t you dare tell this to anyone — I’ll be eternally mockable. In short, it’s a major event in my meager life to have welcomed, in my home, Victor Hugo.

Yesterday all the memories of my youth came fleeting back to me at their most luminous. I recalled, from the first impression of “The Daughter of O’Taiti,” everything that I ever loved about him: “Autumn Leaves” in Geneva, when I was so submerged in unhappiness, all the verses that we repeated:

“Oh jealous among the jealous
I deferred. Life deferred that passes….” etc.

I remembered the performance of that play, “The King amuses himself,” which you expected to attend even if your mother died during the day, his preface to “A Condemned Man” when we read it together with such enthusiasm and when I would have cried like an idiot if there hadn’t been an insane crowd to consider.

To begin at the beginning: I also invited the Ingres couple, Monsieur and Madame Duban, Ampère, Mignet, and Balzac. He was impeccably dressed — as I like it. You can imagine him: All in black, good linen, ends of the sleeves rolled up to mimic short-sleeves, etc…. Hair styled straight and long like you (minus the hair, of which he has little).

We exchanged a cordial hand-shake. He stayed until 10 o’clock, notwithstanding that he had a reading of “Ruy Blas” to make at 8 p.m. at the Porte Saint-Martin. The incredible thing is that I find him to be the exact opposite of his writings, of what you say about him, of what competent authorities say about him, and of what I myself believed about him. I find him to be simple, good, above all charming, not at all arrogant and hardly shy, with the hearty laugh of a child and a soothing voice, extremely polished with men, flattering and practically respectful with Monsieur Ingres, delicately attentive with me, jesting with Balzac….

I repeat: I really considered that my younger days were past me. I thought above all that I was beyond this idolatry of intelligence. And which would have seemed in another epoch like the sappiest of… (missing from the original text)….combined with the most violent of loves! Just one of these two sentiments would be enough to completely fill or rattle an entire life. But when the two meet in one heart that heart is doomed to burst because it can’t be large enough to hold both of them.

…. Farewell. What on Earth will you think of this idiotic letter?

I hope that it will make you smile.

I kiss away* that smile on your lips.

Extracted from “Correspondence de Liszt et de Madame d’Agoult,” 1840 – 1864, publiée par M. Daniel Ollivier. Copyright Éditions Bernard Grasset (Paris), 1934.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

